19
Aug
09

TBI Writers Support Group

August 19, 2009writing, hand

TBI Writers Support Group

One of the things that started me thinking about a TBI Skype Support Group, was an incident that happened last month. While at our local center for brain injury, I visited with their medical librarian whose job is to help doctors, therapists, TBI patients, their caregivers and other TBI survivors in the community. I went to see if she could find information about a complex condition I have….Basilar Artery Migraines. When I do a search on the internet, I find very little. I wanted to see if she could find more information about it and was pleasantly surprised when she announced over 5,000 hits to her search!

During my time with her, I told her about my website which I created because I found it so therapeutic for me to write. She told me about a TBI Writers Support Group offered twice a week that she facilitates at the center because she thought it would be very therapeutic for TBI survivors to write — an activity which might go along nicely with their other types of therapy. I have been having a difficult time writing (as you may have noticed my decreased postings here) because of the things that are going on in my life. Yet at the same time, that is when writing seems to be most helpful. I wanted to participate in the group, but transportation to the center is a problem for me.

I asked her if they had the ability to use Skype so that could participate. After explaining Skype to her, she approached her supervisor who gave approval to try this out. I am hoping they will have the program up and running for this Friday’s group, but if not, I will post what I’ve written on my website and participate via speaker phone…not the greatest way to participate, but it feels wonderful to have someone be willing to find ways to overcome obstacles so that I might participate. Thank you, Barbara!!!

Last week’s writing topic was: Changes & Recovery (click here to read what I wrote).

This week’s topic is: The best advice you’ve ever received. Click here to read The Sage Within.

© Angela Cramer, 2008-2009

Photo is the property of Jupiterimages made available through subscription:
© Jupiterimages Corporation, 2008-2009 www.clipart.com

0 Responses to “TBI Writers Support Group”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Please Donate

If you found my website helpful, please consider making a donation. Even as little as $1.00/person or per hit could make a huge difference in my life. To make a donation, click on the "Donate" tab at the top of the page. Thank you for your support!
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 42,386 hits

